Trojan netters recognized by ITA


TEMPE, Ariz. - The University of Mount Olive men’s and women’s tennis teams have been recognized for their academic achievement by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

Directed by former head coach Kevin Coghill, the Trojans were one of several Conference Carolinas squads named to the ITA All-Academic Team list and had nine individuals selected as ITA Scholar Athletes.

Representing the men’s team were three-time Conference Carolinas Player-of-the-Year Armando Ferreira and Diego Ortega Cadahia.

The women’s honorees were Abigail Agra, Marcia Garcia Impalea, Bipasha Mehn, Deike Schipper, Yelyzaveta Voloshyna, Nele Webe and Ece Yuksel.

UMO emerged as the regular-season Conference Carolinas champion in men’s and women’s play this past spring. The men’s team captured the league’s tournament title and advanced to the NCAA Southeast Regional.

Cross country

Conference Carolinas officials announced University of Mount Olive will play host to the season-ending men’s and women’s championship meets on Oct. 23.

“[We are] looking forward to once again hosting the conference cross country championships,” said Jeff Eisen, vice president for athletics at UMO. “Unfortunately, the championships were one of the casualties of the pandemic last fall, but we are excited to have it back on our campus and resume its position as one of the highlights of the fall sports season.”

Chris Colvin, conference commissioner, said the 2020-21 academic year proved unique in many ways.

“We know Mount Olive will help us provide a first-class experience for our student-athletes and allow us to fully showcase our elite runners in Conference Carolinas,” Colvin said.

Emmanuel (Georgia) swept the men’s and women’s titles this past January. 

UMO’s Monique Whiteman was named the conference’s freshman-of-the-year, while distance specialist Cas Kopmels claimed the league’s freshman- and runner-of-the-year awards.

The Trojan men have collected six runner-of-the-year awards since 2015 and seven overall during the past eight years.

UMO hosted the league championship in 2019.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment