SW's Parker, Callahan named top athletes for 2020-21


DUDLEY – Multi-sport performers Abbey Parker and Tayvon Callahan earned the 2020-21 Female and Male Athlete-of-the-Year awards, respectively, during a season-ending virtual awards ceremony presented at Southern Wayne High School.

Parker played volleyball, softball and girls’ tennis.

On the softball diamond, she batted .286 and knocked in a team-leading 15 runs. In volleyball, she hit .313 with 20 kills, served a team-best 23 aces and collected 97 digs on defense.

A standout sprinter, Callahan dominated the 110- and 300-meter hurdle scene throughout the season. He emerged as the Eastern Carolina 3A-4A and eastern regional champion in both events.

Callahan qualified for the season-ending N.C. High School Athletic Association Class 3A outdoor track and field state championship meet. He earned a bronze medal (third place) in the 110 event and wound up fifth in the 300.

He has signed a national letter-of-intent to continue his track career at Division II member UNC Pembroke, which joined Conference Carolinas on July 1.

Callahan is a multi-sport athlete, garnering awards in football, basketball and track and field.

“Our coaches and athletes have had a tough year with COVID restrictions, masks and social distancing,” said Mike Jones, assistant principal at Southern Wayne. “Through all of their hard work, we were able to enjoy a fall, spring and winter sports season. I want to congratulate our athletes on their accomplishments this year.

“Thank you for bringing normalcy to all of our lives through hard work and dedication. You represented Southern Wayne well on our home fields and courts right here in Dudley, and in regional and state competitions.”

Here are the award winners:

• Boys’ Cross Country: Extra Effort - Edwin Perez; Most Improved - Carson Wise; Coach’s Award - Jeremy Whitley; and Most Valuable Player (MVP) - Jose Velasquez.

• Girls’ Cross Country: MVP - Xiomora Soler.

• Varsity Football: Offensive Player of the Year - Paul Francis; Defensive Player of the Year - Tayvon Callahan; Most Improved - Caleb Shaw; Coach’s Award - Wadshon Pierre-Louise; MVP - Darius Jackson; All-Conference - Callahan.

• Girls’ Golf: Coach’s Award - Georgia Fulghum, MVP - Caroline Jones.

• Boys’ Soccer: Offensive Player of the Year - Gavin Simons; Defensive Player of the Year - Drew Bryan; Most Improved - Yeims Gomez Carreto; Coach’s Award - Bryan; MVP - Gavin Simons; All-Conference - Bryan, Simons.

• Girls’ Tennis: Most Improved - Anna Summerlin; Coach’s Award - Madison Holmes; MVP - Abbey Parker.

• JV Volleyball: Most Improved - Lesley Elizalde; Coach’s Award - Katelyn Gregory; MVP - Sara Lopez.

• Varsity Volleyball: Top Teammate - Haley Toler; The Scrapper - Allie Lane; Most Improved - Toler; Coach’s Award - Sarah Game; MVP - Parker; All-Conference - Morgan Kennedy, Parker (honorable mention).

• Girls’ Varsity Basketball: Extra Effort - JaMaya Leach; Hustle Award - Katie Toler; Most Improved - Elaina Lane; Coach’s Award - Aleesha Boyette; MVP - Ty’Lisha Maye; All-Conference - Maye and Jamaiya Bass.

• Boys’ JV Basketball: Most Improved - Chris McDuffie; Coach’s Award - Jahmere Bannerman; MVP - Richard Nobles.

• Boys’ Varsity Basketball: Defensive Player - Paul Francis; Mr. Glass - Tayvon Callahan; Most Improved - Chris Carmon; Coach’s Award - Jabari Pearsall; MVP - Donshea Boseman; All-Conference - Pearsall.

• Cheerleading: Most Improved - Catherine Summerlin; Coach’s Award - Bethany Tadlock; MVP - Kiara Kornegay.

• Girls’ Swimming: Most Improved - Marlena Warrick; Coach’s Award - Sarah Game; MVP - Brittanya Norris.

• Boys’ Swimming: Most Improved - Carson Daly; Coach’s Award - Wyatt Womble; MVP - Nathan Joyner.

• Wrestling: Most Improved - Eli Hulet; Coach’s Award - Dallas Howard.

• JV Baseball: Most Improved - Cuyler Daly; Coach’s Award - Dylan Daniels; MVP - Drew Sweet.

• Varsity Baseball: Top Pitcher - Richard Noble; Top Hitter - Alex Ferrell; Golden Glove - Wyatt Womble; Most Improved - Nathan Joyner; Coach’s Award - Phillip Holmes; MVP - Carson Daly; All-Conference - Noble, Daly, Alex Ferrell (honorable mention) and Will Pennington (honorable mention).

• Boys’ Golf: Most improved - Dylan Daniels; Coach’s Award - Cameron Denning; MVP - Joseph Strange.

• Girls’ Soccer: Most Improved - Amya Smith; Coach’s Award - Xiomora Soler; MVP - Morgan Kennedy.

Softball: Bat Buster - Layla Rackley; Golden Glove - Abbey Parker; Most Improved - Kylie Barwick; Coach’s Award - Anna Summerlin; MVP - Allie Lane; All-Conference - Lane, Rackley, Parker (honorable mention).

• Boys’ Tennis: Most Improved - Oswaldo Quiroz; Coach’s Award - Jose Velasquez; MVP - Edwin Perez.

• Girls’ Track and Field: Rookie of the Year - Kalecia Barnes; Super Saint - Elaina Lane; Most Improved - Mia Glaspie-Leach; Coach’s Award - Nerchka Maxi; MVP - Ta’Niyah Glaspie; All-Co-Conference Female Athlete of the Year - Glaspie.

• Boys’ Track and Field: Rookie of the Year - Lamontez White; Super Saint - Donshae Boseman; Most Improved - Derric Dove; Coach’s Award - Kevin Brown; MVP - Tayvon Callahan; Conference Male Athlete of the Year - Callahan.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment