New commissioners take oath of office


Two new faces, Delreese Simmons and Tommy Brown, joined the Mount Olive Town Board of Commissioners during their monthly meeting June 14.

The newly-elected commissioners were sworn into office while their families and friends watched the ceremony. Simmons, who will represent District 2, was sworn in by N.C. House Rep. Raymond Smith. Brown, the District 4 winner, was sworn in by Senior Resident Superior Court Judge Will Bland of Goldsboro.

Simmons replaces Harlie Carmichael, while Brown is Dennis Draper’s successor. Carmichael and Draper were each seeking consecutive terms.

Mayor Ken Talton praised both outgoing board members for being part of “one of the hardest-working boards I have ever seen.”

The new board’s first action was re-electing Steve Wiggins as mayor pro-tem. Brown made the nomination, while Commissioner Vicky Darden nominated Commissioner Barbara Kornegay to retain her seat.

After a short discussion, town attorney W. Carroll Turner verified that a nominee could vote for himself.

Nominations were re-opened. Brown once again nominated Wiggins and Darden nominated Kornegay. Wiggins was re-elected by a 3-2 vote with Simmons casting the tie-breaking vote.

State Sen. Don Davis swore Wiggins into office.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment