Southern Wayne wraps up year with annual athletic banquet


DUDLEY - Student-athletes were praised and honored Tuesday night at the annual Southern Wayne Athletic Banquet. Numerous athletes walked away with MVP, All-Conference and many other honors.

Each coach awarded an MVP for their respective teams and two Saints walked away as the Male and Female athletes of the year. Volleyball, basketball and track-and-field athlete Alexus Elliot was honored as the overall female athlete of the year.

Elliot was also bestowed the coach's award for the women's basketball team. Elliot will be heading to Elizabeth City State University this fall to join its volleyball program. Fellow senior and teammate Samiya Bess was honored for reaching the 1,000-point threshold in her Southern Wayne career. 

Future UNC-Wilmington Seahawk Taylen West was awarded the male athlete of the year. West also won MVP for the football, indoor track-and-field and spring men's track-and-field teams. West will be joining the UNCW track-and-field program this fall. 

The following are team awards that were handed out at the banquet:

Cross Country 

The men’s Cross Country team finished second at the Annual Bill Kemp Wayne County Championship Meet.

Most improved: Angela Jones and Luke Muston

Coach’s award: Naila Banks and Carson Daly

Women’s Cross Country MVP: Caroline Best

Men’s Cross Country MVP: Ryan Norton

JV Football 

Most improved: Elijah Smith

Coach’s award: Wadshon Pierre-Lewis

MVP: Terquavius Butler

Varsity Football

Offensive Player of the Year: Demetric Wright

Defensive Player of the Year: Jalen Thompson

Most improved: Jerome Moore

Coach’s award: Dylan Denning

MVP: Taylen West

Women's Golf

Most improved: Caroline Jones

Coach’s award: Madison Blizzard

MVP: Georgia Fulghum

Men's Soccer

Defensive Player Award: Juan Tinajero

Offensive Player Award: Wildrens Doliscar

Most improved: Wyatt Hatsell

Coach’s award: Gavin Simmons

All-Conference: Luis Gutierrez, Juan Tinajero and Wyatt Hatsell

MVP: Luis Gutierrez

Women's Tennis

Most improved: Brittanya Norris

Coach’s award: Carla Senatus

All-Conference: Kasey Vann

MVP: Kasey Vann

JV Volleyball

Most improved: Sarah Game

Coach’s award: Sara Lopez

MVP: Meagan Lee

Varsity Volleyball

Defensive Player of the Year: Daylan Wiggs

Offensive Player of the Year: Kya Hunter

Most improved: Samiya Bess

Coach’s award: Citlhaly Vera

All-Conference: Alexus Elliott

MVP: Alexus Elliott

Women's JV Basketball

Most improved: Katie Toler

Coach’s award: Erica Sutton

MVP: Diamond McClarin

Women's Varsity Basketball

Rookie of the Year: D’mia Wright

Top Defender Award: Erykah Baldwin

Most improved: O’shaniya Melvin

Coach’s award: Alexus Elliott

All-Conference: Ty’Lisha Maye and Samiya Bess

All-Area First Team and All-District First Team: Samiya Bess

MVP: Samiya Bess

Men's JV Basketball

Most improved: Javari Ashford

Coach’s award: Donshae Boseman

MVP: Jabari Pearsall

Men's Varsity Basketball

For the first time since being in the split 3A/4A ECC Conference, the men’s basketball team finished second overall and first among the 3A schools.

Defense Award: Jamari Leach

'Mr. Windex': Mikhail Pocknett

Most improved: Daetwon Barnes

Coach’s award: Joshua Melvin

All-Conference: Jamari Leach, Demetric Wright and Mikhail Pocknett

Third Team All-District: Demetric Wright

MVP: Demetric Wright


Most improved: Mikayla Jones

Coach’s award: Aaliesha Kenon

All-Conference: Kiara Kornegay, Ariyonna Core, Aaliesha Kenon and Wyomia McCabe

MVP: Kiara Kornegay

Women's Indoor Track and Field

Rookie of the Year: Shiliyah Williams

Extra Effort Award: Erykah Baldwin

Most improved: Madison Holmes

Coach’s award: Caroline Best

MVP: Alexus Elliott

Men's Indoor Track and Field

Rookie of the Year: Malik Thomas

Extra Effort Award: Jose Velasquez

Most improved: Tashawn Philips

Coach’s award: Edwin Perez

MVP: Taylen West


The school had one of two teams from the county to be represented at regionals having the most to qualify with the women’s 400-yard relay

Lifesaver Award: Gabi Grainger

Most improved: Brie Norris and Robert Cox

Coach’s award: Brianna Cooper and AJ Groves

Women’s Swim MVP: Marlena Warrick

Men’s Swim MVP: Raymond Hyde


Most improved: Wadshon Pierre-Louis

Coach’s award: Austin Espinoza

MVP: Lester Velasquez

JV Baseball

Most improved: Connor Whiting

Coach’s award: Michael Martin

MVP: Wyatt Womble

Varsity Baseball

Top Hitter Award: Luke Davis

Golden Glove Award: Justin Edwards

Most improved: Drew Cox

Coach’s award: Dylan Whitley

All-Conference: Luke Davis and Matthew Kornegay

MVP: Luke Davis

Men's Golf

Consistency Award: Thomas Wingate and Lucas Gregory

Most improved: Robert Cox

Coach’s award: Graham Jernigan

MVP: Turner Worth

Women's Soccer

Defensive Player Award: Imani Ammons

Offensive Player Award: Caroline Best

Most improved: Daylan Wiggs

Coach’s award: Cruz Vera

All-Conference: Morgan Kennedy and  Daylan Wiggs

MVP: Morgan Kennedy

JV Softball

Most improved: Reagan Waller 

Coach’s award: Georgia Fulghum

MVP: Anna Summerlin

Varsity Softball

Defensive Player of the Year: Allie Lane

Offensive Player of the Year: Kelly Dail

Most improved: Marylee Heath

Coach’s award: Abbey Parker

All-Conference: Mackenzie Bryan, Dawn Anderson and Abbey Parker

MVP: Caroline Summerlin

Women's Track and Field

Rookie of the Year: Samyah Stewart

Extra Effort Award: Ty’Lisha Maye

Most improved: Laci Capri

Coach’s award: Breanna Glanton

MVP: Alexus Elliott

Men's Track and Field

Rookie of the Year: Josef Sanders

Extra Effort Award: Simeon Wilder

Most improved: Xavious Speight

Coach’s award: Darius Jackson

MVP: Taylen West


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment