Smith elected minority whip


Raymond E. Smith Jr., a native of Mount Olive, was elected minority whip by the House Democratic caucus in the N.C. General Assembly.

Smith is the House District 21 representative for Wayne and Sampson counties.

The Democratic caucus unanimously voted for Smith, a second-term Democrat, and fellow Democrats Rep. Amos Quick (District 58), Rep. Deb Butler (District 18) and Rep. Susan Fisher (District 114).

Minority whips are part of the Democratic caucus’ leadership and are responsible for maintaining communications regarding various topics among caucus members, tracking vote counts on pending issues, ensuring attendance of members for votes and quorum calls and helping new members assimilate.

“It is with sincere gratitude and humble appreciation of the vote of confidence from my colleagues to become one of their leaders, [for] that I am truly honored. I am here to serve,” Smith said.

Smith was reelected Nov. 3 to serve his second full term in the House.

Prior to serving in the General Assembly, Smith was the at-large member and vice chairman of the Wayne County Board of Education. He was first elected to the NC House of Representatives in 2018 after the announcement and retirement of former longtime Rep. Larry M. Bell.

Smith currently serves on several House committees including Appropriations, Appropriations Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Military and Veterans Affairs, House Select Committee on Disaster Relief and Transportation.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment