Gators honored at year-end awards ceremony


SEVEN SPRINGS – Student-athletes from Spring Creek concluded their 2021-22 sports year with an awards ceremony held in the school’s gymnasium.

Coaches recognized players with awards in the following sports.

Volleyball: Yaeli Espinosa (MVP, All-Neuse Six 2A), Emily Williams (All-Neuse Six 2A), Heather Alexander (rookie of the year), Peyton Sullivan (Gator Award).

Boys’ basketball: Calvin Alphin (All-Neuse Six 2A), Jamill Burrell (All-Neuse Six 2A), Cole Honeycutt (coach’s award), Nick Jones (most improved), Robert Strickland (Gator Award).

Girls’ basketball: Emily Williams (MVP, All-Neuse Six 2A), Sarah Hess (defensive player of the year), Madison Broughton (offensive player of the year), Cailyn Shivar (coach’s award), Vanessa Duruttya (Gator award), Heather Alexander (rookie of the year).

Baseball: Harrison Sutton (MVP, All Neuse Six 2A), Robert Strickland (Doug Sanderson Award), Cole Honeycutt (Gator award), David Williams (coach’s award).

Softball: Sarah Hess (MVP, All-Neuse Six 2A), Emily Williams (All-Neuse Six 2A), Mattie Staps (Honorable mention Neuse Six 2A), Heather Alexander (HM Neuse Six 2A), Ann Marie Howard (coach’s award), Cailyn Shivar (most improved).

Boys’ track: Damian Haney (MVP), Dustin Wise (best long distance runner), Christian Lopez (best thrower).

Girls’ track: Maria Melchor (MVP), Anna Evans (coach’s award).

Football: Robert Strickland (MPV, All-Neuse Six 2A), Cory Davis (defensive player of the year), Dylan Davidson (offensive player of the year), Cody Johnson (lineman of the year), Jack Evans (Gator award), RB Wiggins (HM Neuse Six 2A), David Williams (HM Neuse Six 2A), Daniel Denny (HM Neuse Six 2A).

Girls’ soccer: Elisa Mendoza (rookie of the year), Mairani Cervantes (Gator award), Yaeli Espinosa (MVP), Nayeli Hurtado (All-Neuse Six 2A), Peyton Sullivan (HM Neuse Six 2A).

Boys’ soccer: Homar Lopez Castro (rookie of the year), Oswaldo Escudero (Gator award, HM Neuse Six 2A), Fernando Trejo (MVP, All-Neuse Six 2A, NCSCA All-Region), Bryan Lopez Sanchez (HM Neuse Six 2A), Jossue Pineda (All-Neuse Six 2A), Adrian Tavera (All-Neuse Six 2A, NCSCA All-Region), Alex Carmona Morales (All-Neuse Six 2A, NCSCA All-Region, NCSCA All-State), Edgar Victorino (All-Neuse Six 2A, NCSCA All-Region), Jonah Perez (All-Neuse Six 2A, NCSCA All-Region).


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment